Arts & Culture News

Jury’s verdict vs. audience choice in 2019 MMFF

The members of the organizing committee of the 2019 Metro Manila film Festival.

The 45th edition of the Metro Manila Film Festival came to a close Friday night with the jury’s choice in sharp contrast with audience preference as reflected in the unofficial box office results of the first three days.

The festival rule doesn’t allow release of actual box office results.

Director Brillante Mendoza and MMFF best actress awardee Judy Ann Santos on the set of “Mindanao.”

Brillante Mendoza’s “Mindanao” – earlier rated A by the Cinema Evaluation Board — went home with 11 awards including best picture, best director (Mendoza), best actor (Allen Dizon) and best actress (Judy Ann Santos).

Second best picture was “Write About Love” by Crisanto Aquino and third best picture was the only horror entry, “Sunod” directed by Carlo Ledesma.

The irony of it all is that as the top three best pictures were announced, the award winning films were also losing theaters to the box office champions.

The most jarring result and the big exception was the non-inclusion of Nuel Naval’s Philippine adaptation of a 2013 Korean drama film, “Miracle in Cell No. 7” in any of the award categories.

Also rated A by the Cinema Evaluation Board, “Miracle in Cell No. 7” is actually making major miracle in the box office threatening to dislodge the box office standing of the Vice Ganda starrer, “The Mall, The Merrier” and the Coco Martin film, “3pol Trobol: Huli Ka Balbon” which were reportedly leading the initial box office race.

The Aga Muhlach-starrer had many sold-out screenings in many theaters on the third day of the festival and still counting.

The Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2019 organizing committee revealed on FB that the first day gross of the festival was comparable to last year’s good MMFF earnings.

This was confirmed by MMFF organizing committee spokesperson Noel Ferrer who said the box office result was surprising despite the closing of some cinemas in the Visayas and Mindanao due to the onslaught of Typhoon Ursula.

For the record, the total gross of the 2018 MMFF was over a billion pesos.

Cast of “Miracle in Cell No. 7” led by Aga Muhlach with director Nuel Naval. The surprise hit in the festival.

A surprise box office hit and rated A by the Cinema Evaluation Board, “Miracle in Cell No. 7” connected very well with Filipino audiences.

The film with well-nuanced direction by Nuel Naval revealed a new portrait of Aga Muhlach as an actor. John Arcilla as the prison officer was equally a standout.

The real treat of the film is the excellent prison ensemble led by Joel Torre and JC Santos and that lovable kid named Yesha (Xia Vigor) whose adult counterpart got a perfect adult transformation in the portrayal of Bella Padilla.

On the whole, the film is really pure melodrama with light comic treatment. Screenwriter Mel Mendoza del Rosario had the arduous task of re-inventing the sense of humor to make it real for |Filipino audiences.

Thanks to its stable of good actors, the adaptation worked and created miracle in the box office.

“Mindanao” — which won the best picture, best actor, best actress and best director awards — is another fine film evocation of the endless conflicts in that part of the country.

The film narrative is part folktale and part social reality. Interspersed with the animated part, you see Mindanao portrait unfolding in the plight of a Muslim wife, Saima (Judy Ann Santos) and her husband, Malang (Allen Dizon), the combat medic.

It is pretty much a big echo of the Marilou Diaz-Abaya film, “Bagong Buwan.”

The second best picture “Write About Love” directed by Crisanto Aquino of TBA Studios focuses on the screenwriters’ life.

This is a refreshing subject to explore because as far as one knows, there is very little film titles exploring the subject.

Two writers (Miles Ocampo and Rocco Nacino) — one a newbie and another the seasoned one — take on the challenge of rewriting a film called Just Us. All at once, you see a mentor-pupil relationship as they exchange ideas and find out what works and what doesn’t.

Director Carlo Ledesma and Carmina Villaruel. Their film, “Sunod,” is easily one of the year’s best horror films.

But in terms of craft and directorial execution, the third best picture “Sunod” by Carlo Ledesma is easily one of this year’s best horror picture. The film chronicles the horror of daily existence of a single mother played with sensitivity by Carmina Villaruel. The good screenplay allows the moviegoer to enjoy the quiet moments before unleashing its shocking elements.

On top of a good screenplay, “Sunod” has excellent cinematography which frames the story in good context.

Alvin Yapan’s “Culion” which won the special jury prize for its ensemble is a quiet but haunting tale of an island of the living dead. It is an island of memories, of lost love and yes, hope for a better life.

The island characters shine — Anna (Iza Calzado). Doris (Jasmine Curtis-Smith) and Ditas (Meryll Soriano).

On its advance screening, it was the cameo role of John Lloyd Cruz as the long-lost love of Ditas (|Soriano) that elicited unanimous applause.

It was well-deserved.

Without dialogue, Cruz’s countenance radiated deeply felt sense of longing so indescribable it was simply heart-breaking.

Hopefully, the three best films get back their theater allocations after the awards night.

The complete results of the winners of the Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) 2019 Gabi ng Parangal December 27, 2019

Best Actress Judy Ann Santos – Mindanao

Best Actor
Allen Dizon – Mindanao
Best Picture
2nd Best Picture
Write About Love

3rd Best Picture
Best Director
Brillante Mendoza – Mindanao
Special Jury Prize (writing) Crisanto Aquino – Write About Love
Special Jury Prize (cast)
Best Screenplay
Write About Love
Best Supporting Actress Yeng Constantino – Write About Love
Best Supporting Actor Joem Bascon – Write About Love
FPJ Memorial Award

Gatpuno Antonio J Villegas Cultural Award

Best Visual Effects

Best Production Design
Best Original Song Ikaw ang Akin – Write About Love

Best Musical Score
Write About Love
Best Sound
Best Child Performer
Yuna Tangod – Mindanao
Gender Sensitive Award
Best Float
Best Student Short Film Award Pamana ni Lola
MMFF Hall of Fame Awardees
Industry Stalwarts Marichu Vera-Perez, Boots Anson-Rodrigo.Bienvenido Lumbera, Joseph Estrada
Best Actor Anthony Alonzo, Christopher De Leon
Best Actress Nora Aunor, Amy Austria, Vilma Santos-Recto, Maricel Soriano
Best Supporting Actress Eugene Domingo, Cherie Gil
Best Director Marilou Diaz-Abaya, Joel Lamangan, Jose Javier Reyes
Best Screenplay/Story Roy Iglesias, Ricky Lee, Jose Javier Reyes
Best Cinematographer Rudy Lacap, Lee Meily, Carlo Mendoza, Romy Vitug
Best Sound Engineer Ditoy Aguila, Michael Albert Idioma, Rolly Ruta
Best Musical Score Dionisio Buencamino, Von de Guzman, Jaime Fabregas, Jessie Lasaten
Best Editor Vito Cajili, Manet Dayrit, Jess Navarro, Edgardo Vinarao
Best Visual Effects Roadrunner Network, Inc.